Monday, March 20, 2006

ACRL Update March 15, 2006

ACRL UpdateWednesday, March 15, 2006

1. Register For RBMS Preconference on Libraries, Archives, and Museums
2. Announcing new ACRL Institute for Information Literacy Program! "The Intentional Teacher: Renewal Through Informed Reflection"
3. Become a Dr. E. J. Josey Spectrum Mentor
4. ACRL is proud to announce our 2006 Award Winners

Register For RBMS Preconference on Libraries, Archives, and Museums
20-23 June 2006, Austin, Texas

Registration is now open for "Libraries, Archives, and Museums in the 21st Century: Intersecting Missions, Converging Futures?" This two-and-a-half-day conference program will include a series of plenary sessions that address a broad range of topics from comparative viewpoints, including collecting purposes and strategies, audiences and access, legal issues, and professional education and development. The Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center at the University of Texas at Austin will serve as the primary host.

Registration, program, and scholarship application information is available from the conference web site at: . Registration rates are $195 for members; $240 for non-members; and $75 for current, full-time students. A $50 surcharge will be added to registrations after May 17. A generous grant from Institute for Library and Museum Services (IMLS) will provide funding for thirty new and aspiring professionals to attend the conference, including at least ten from professionally underrepresented backgrounds. The deadline for scholarship applications is March 30.

Announcing new ACRL Institute for Information Literacy Program! "The Intentional Teacher: Renewal Through Informed Reflection"
ACRL's Institute for Information Literacy (IIL) is pleased to announce a new addition to its popular Immersion program. The Intentional Teacher: Renewal Through Informed Reflection program is intended for the librarian with experience in teaching who wants to become more self-aware and self-directed as a teacher. During this 3.5 day program, participants will examine their practice through the four lenses of autobiography, student perspectives, the colleague as resource, and the research literature on teaching and learning. A co-constructed learning community will foster group interaction and active participation. The Intentional Teacher program will be offered in fall 2006 and spring 2007 by members of the nationally-recognized IIL Immersion faculty. The Invitation to Apply will be announced later in late March 2006. Watch for complete details.

Become a Dr. E. J. Josey Spectrum Mentor
And develop of the next generation of academic librarians. The ACRL Dr. E. J. Josey Spectrum Mentor Program is designed to link ALA Spectrum Scholars with established academic librarians, who will provide mentoring and coaching support; serve as a role model in academic librarianship; and provide guidance in seeking a career path and opportunities for leadership in the profession. Because many of the Spectrum Scholars are part-time library school students, a mentor must make a commitment for a minimum of one year beyond the degree or a maximum of three years.

A key feature of the ACRL Dr. E. J. Josey Spectrum Scholar Mentor Program includes a required training session for mentors, which will take place at the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago on Friday, June 23, 2006 from 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon.

Other responsibilities of the mentors include:
* Agreeing to contact the mentee monthly or on a regular basis.
* Agreeing to attend a Dutch-treat lunch or dinner meeting with other Spectrum Scholars and mentors to promote networking when at ALA/ACRL conferences.
* Agreeing to spend time with the scholar at library conferences when both are in attendance.
* Submitting a brief (one paragraph) midyear report and an annual report (one page form).

The profession needs you. Become an ACRL mentor for a Spectrum Scholar by going to: and completing the application by April 7, 2006 . If you have additional questions about the ACRL Dr. E.J. Josey Spectrum Scholar Mentor Program, contact Theresa Byrd at or (740) 368-3246. You may also contract Mary Jane Petrowski at ACRL at or (800) 545-2433, ext. 2523.

ACRL is proud to announce our 2006 Award Winners:

Division Award Winners
Excellence in Academic Libraries
University: Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, New York
College: Augustana College, Rock Island, Illinois
Community College: No recipient

Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award
Ray English, Oberlin College

Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award
Nancy M. Cline, Harvard University

Samuel Lazerow Fellowship Award
Kyung-Sun Kim, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship
Jean E. Dryden, University of Toronto

Section Award Winners
CJCLS Awards
Learning Resources/Leadership Award
Susan Anderson, St. Petersburg College

Library Program Achievement Award
Eva Lautermann, Lois Shelton and Sherry Durren, of the Georgia Perimeter College

DLS Award
Distance Learning Librarian Conference Sponsorship Award
Monica Hines Craig, Central Michigan University

EBSS Award
Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award

Elizabeth Oakley Hutchins, College of St. Catherine

IS Awards
Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award

Mary Jane Petrowski, Association of College and Research Libraries

IS Innovation Award
University of Rhode Islands Library 120 Instructor Group for their project, Issues of the Information Age: A Series of Continuing Public Forums at the University of Rhode Island

IS Publication Award
Michelle Hoschuh Simmons, University of Iowa, for her article, Librarians as Disciplinary Discourse Mediators: Using Genre Theory to move Toward Critical Information Literacy

LPSS Award
Marta Lange/CQ Press Award
Graham R. Walden, The Ohio State University

RBMS/Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards
Category 1 Winner (Expensive)

A Heavenly Craft: The Woodcut in Early Printed Books, submitted by the Library of Congress, Rare Book and Special Collections Division.

Category 2 Winner (Moderately Expensive)
The Special Collections Research Center at the Syracuse University Library for their piece entitled Don't pay any attention to him. He's 90% water.: The Cartooning Career of Boris Drucker.

Category 3 Winner (Inexpensive)
City Lights Pocket Poets series, 1955-2005: from the collection of Donald A. Heneghan, submitted by The Grolier Club.

Category 4 Winner (Brochures)
Yale University's Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library brochure entitled J. M. Barrie and Peter Pan: A children's guide.

Category 5 Winner (Electronic Exhibitions)
Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections at the Cornell University Library for From Dublin to Ithaca: Cornell's James Joyce Collection,
WESS Grant
Coutts Nijhoff International West European Specialist Study Grant
Dale Askey, Kansas State University

WSS Achievement in Women's Studies Librarianship Awards
Career Achievement
Marlene Manoff, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Significant Achievement
1. Katherine Kraft, Harvard University
2. Carrie Kruse, University of Wisconsin, and Cynthia Johnson, the Pratt Institute

The ACRL Awards Program honors the best and brightest stars of academic librarianship. Press releases on the 2006 winners can be found on the ACRL Web site, . Nominations and applications for the 2007 award season are due December 1, 2006.


Post a Comment

<< Home