Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Registration is now open for ACRL "Combating Student Plagiarism" webcast

ACRL is offering its webcast, "The Role of the Librarian in Combating Student Plagiarism," on February 11, 2008. Registration is now open.

Webcast date: February 11, 2008

Time: 11:00 a.m. Pacific, 12:00 p.m. Mountain, 1:00 p.m. Central, 2:00 p.m. Eastern

Length: 1.5 hours

This 1.5-hour webcast explores the role of the academic librarian in combating student plagiarism and the "culture of copy" that our students inhabit. Examine why plagiarism poses problems for higher education professionals including academic librarians, why use of discipline-based approaches helps combat plagiarism effectively, how to design effective information literacy session assignments to help students understand how they can avoid plagiarism, and more.

Lynn Lampert, coordinator of information literacy and instruction at California State University-Northridge will lead the webcast. She has specialized in the area of information literacy instruction since she began her professional career as an academic librarian in 1998.

Registration is limited to 60. ACRL and ALA members receive a registration discount. For complete information, including more details about the webcast, learning outcomes, and a link to registration, go to: http://www.ala.org/ala/acrl/acrlproftools/plagiarism.htm.

Registration fees:
ACRL member: $50
ALA member: $75
CACUL member: Can$90 (charges will be made in U.S. dollars)
Nonmember: $90
Student: $40
Group: $295

1 Comments:

Blogger Will Murray said...

Colleges may also be interested in the 3rd International Plagiarism Conference, which examines the challenges facing institutions as they evolve solutions to the issue of ensuring authenticity in learners' work in a changing information environment.
http://www.plagiarismconference.com/

Thanks

8:02 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home